Advisory Board

Stephen Elledge, Ph.D.

TScan Co-Founder, Scientific Advisory Board Chair, The Gregor Mendel Professor of Genetics and of Medicine, Division of Genetics, Brigham and Women’s Hospital, and the Department of Genetics, Harvard Medical School.

Stephen Elledge, Ph.D., is widely cited for his many seminal contributions and, in particular, for his work on the mechanism of both cellular proliferation and the DNA Damage Response. He was awarded the Albert Lasker Prize in Basic Medicine in 2015 for his body of work elucidating how cells sense DNA damage and initiate self-repair. His pioneering research in that field has had a significant impact on understanding human birth defects and aging as well as the genomics of cancer and shows great promise for finding cures. He is also a leader in promoting new genetic technologies and designing methodologies to help researchers better analyze the development of various disorders including cancer, autoimmune diseases and neurodegenerative conditions.

Dr. Elledge has been the recipient of numerous other awards including the 2017 Breakthrough Prize for Life Sciences for paradigm-shifting research, the 2017 Gruber Prize for Genetics, the 2013 Gairdner International Prize for Basic Research and the 2015 Wiley Prize. He has also been a Helen Hay Whitney Fellow, an American Cancer Society Senior Fellow and a Pew Scholar. Dr. Elledge received his Ph.D. in Biology from the Massachusetts Institute of Technology and his B.S. from the University of Illinois. He completed his post-doctoral studies in the Department of Biochemistry at Stanford University and then joined the faculty of the Baylor College of Medicine in the Department of Biochemistry in 1989 prior to joining Harvard Medical School in 2003.